What to do when you don’t have a needle to sew up?

I was on a plane (nothing new there) and just finished knitting the first of a new pair of mitts.  These are a replacement for the ones that I had last year that I lost when I left them in a taxi.   I wanted to make sure it fitted before starting the other one so I wanted to sew it up.  All I had was the needle that I had made it on.  So what to do?  Adapt a 3 needle cast off.

I left the last stitch of the cast off on the right needle and put the left needle through the edge stitches of the first stitch.  I knitted them together and then lifted the last stitch of the cast off over as you would normally, I then picked up the next 2 edge stitches and continued in that fashion.  I am really impressed with the result.  the seam is very neat and even with the amount of stretch required on mitts it looks good with the cast off side facing out.

The reverse side of the cast off

The side I cast off

One thought on “What to do when you don’t have a needle to sew up?

Leave a Reply

