Around the corner

Well the planning was worth it.  I’m really happy with the result.  I calculated what row I would be on and then drew up how I was going to get around the corner using the Little Knitter app for Android.

This app has some advantages over using excel:

  • You can show the axes as rows and stitches or cm/inches.
  • The stitch shape is determined by your gauge

You are restricted however by the symbols available on your keyboard so graphing cables is not possible using standard knitting symbols.  It is also fiddly to use as you either have very small squares on a touch screen or you can’t see enough of the pattern.  I wouldn’t recommend attempting to use this on a phone I used a 7″ tablet, a 10″ tablet would be even better.

I drew the graph simply so I could visualise where the cables were going so I could ensure I ended up with the cables in the right spot to continue the pattern at the end of the short row section.

The fun bit with this was having a short row end in the middle of a M2R or M2L.  I had to knit the next 2 stitches then slip 2 stitches onto a cable needle, slip 2 stitches rather than purl or knit them and then knit or purl the ones from the cable needle.

Pin It

10 thoughts on “Around the corner

  1. I have noticed that people are putting Nicky Epstein’s name on the photo on pinterest. The Saxon Cable was from Nicky’s book; that pattern is for a straight scarf. The 90 degree corner is my modification to fit a triangular shawl as detailed above.

  2. That is amazing! I would love to be able to do something like that. Wow. I feel really stupid all of a sudden. 🙂 And I’ve made some very pretty things!

  3. Hi I know this is an odd request but do you have the written instructions for the pattern as I can not read charts despite the fact I’ve been knitting for years I have some great yarn I’d love to use this on

    • Unfortunately no. I never wrote it out and the pictured graph was only a guide, it took a bit of experimenting to get it right. Once I had done it I didn’t need the complete instructions.

Leave a Reply

