4 years in the making

ribbed collar jacketI got some nice Damson 8ply on my honeymoon in 2004.  In 2008 I started on Jo Sharp’s Wide collared vest, my plan was to add the sleeves from the wide collared cardigan as I thought the vest was a much better length for me and with something that thick and warm I thought I wouldn’t wear sleeveless.

Well I worked on it for quite a while, knitting the fronts and back in one piece until I was past the waist. I put it away for a while, then a year or so later I picked it up and knitted to the armholes, another break then I finished the body.   About 6 months ago I started on the sleeves knitting them in the round at the same time on a circular needle.

At the beginning of February I had a week of train travel so I started the collar which was more like knitting a large ribbed scarf than a collar!  I made the smallest size jacket  then made the collar wider with a looser tension to allow for my shape.

So this winter I have a new warm jacket, perfect for work and to wear with jeans.

One thought on “4 years in the making

  1. So pretty and elegant! This is a sweater/jacket I would wear every day. And if it took four years, well, why rush into anything 😉

Leave a Reply

