Scribble

I got the kit to make Dream Time Shawl recently and I’ve started knitting it.  The yarn is an uneven chenille, some spots have scarce fluffy bits, other parts are thick and fluffy.  I thought this was going to be a quick knit but it isn’t turning out that way.

The yarn is difficult to work with as it sticks more in some places than others.  I am using large needles for the yarn too which also adds to the difficulty as I find I’m constantly knitting into the stitch below instead of the actual stitch I was planning to knit into.  Part of the cause of this is that the yarn catches on the fluffy bits and the stitches don’t even up as they do with a smooth yarn.

To alleviate this problem I have found I need to pull down on the last row of stitches before knitting them.  This loosens the row on the needle making it easier to get the right hand needle into the right spot.

The result however is worth it.  The open garter stitch is perfect for the yarn making what looks like scribbles in the mesh.  It should be a fun piece to wear to when finished.

Leave a Reply

