Playing with colours

I got a skein of red sock wool at Bendigo last year from Fibreworks.  I decided to weave it with the rest of the  bright orange silk that I used for my silk scarf last December.  While I was winding the skein I was thinking about the Purl Scarf.  This is a simple, large needle, knitted scarf that is popular because of its blended colour and texture.  It is made with a thick mohair, a fine kid mohair and a wool.  The idea is to use light, bright and dark yarns to add depth of colour and choose either complementary or contrasting colours. (That’s it in the header of this blog.  That one was made with burgundy Silk Road Tweed, red Kid Silk Haze and mauve Studio Mohair)

I decided to try this in woven form.  I already had the  orange and the red so I added a dark purple as the third colour.  The result is a very rich colour combination; not surprising when using Fibreworks sock wool and the last of my Mohair/Silk blend that was dyed by Marta with the almost glowing orange.  I warped the loom in the orange silk then wove the 3 yarns together making a weft faced fabric.


The result is a soft bright scarf that has a purple haze when seen on an angle.  It is thick and warm, 28cm wide and 160cm long.

One thought on “Playing with colours

Leave a Reply

