2 heddles, what can I do now?

I went to Bendigo on Friday and got a 2nd heddle kit and another set of reeds for my Ashford knitters loom.  I’ve been doing some research to find out what I can do with it.
image

It turns out there are different uses:

  1. 3 draft patterns.
  2. Double the dpi so I can weave solid fabrics with fine yarns. In addition to  the 5, 7.5, 10 and 12.5 dpi I could weave previously, I can now weave at 15, 20 and 25 dpi. (20 threads/10cm through to 100 threads/10cm)
  3. Double weaving.  Double weaving is creating either 2 layers of fabric at the same time or a double thickness fabric if you weave both layers together.
  4. Warp part of it double and part single so it is warped like the Majacraft dynamic heddle loom.

Double weaving allows:

  • plain weave double the width of the loom
  • 2 separate pieces of fabric that can be joined periodically to make pockets.
  • woven tubes
  • winter/summer weaves where colour patterns are woven through both layers and one side is the reverse of the other.

So far I have thought about making a needle roll for my knitting needles, a blanket, a 2×1 twill scarf. Its like having a completely new loom!

Now I just have to finish the project on the loom so I can put the new kit on.

Leave a Reply

