A new triangular scarf

imageI had a single skein of Ella Rae Lace Merino.  This is a lovely soft 4ply yarn.  I decided to design a shawl for it.  My plan was to keep it geometric so that the spine down the middle looked like it belonged there.  I had to restart about 4 times until I had design I liked.

image
The final design I came up with was to have straight lines of YOs  going out from the centre of the shawl and a line of YO around the bottom to tie in with the spine that comes with the basic centre top work down design.  This is my favourite shawl construction because you can stop when you run out of yarn so you don’t have to think about yardage too carefully before you start.

The shawl ended up being 70cm deep and 140cm wide with blocking.  A good size to wear wrapped around the neck for winter and looser for the cooler days in Spring and Autumn.  Monkey says its a shawl, I say it is a scarf.  Its that size inbetween; a large scarf or a small shawl.

I’m looking at my notes at the moment to see if I have sufficient to write up the pattern.  Let me know if you would like to make one, it will give me a bit more incentive to get the pattern written!

image

4 thoughts on “A new triangular scarf

  1. This shawl is lovely; I would certainly make it at least once for myself and probably another time or two for friends :~D.

Leave a comment